The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which works closely with private insurance companies to offer flood insurance. In 1968, Congress created the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) to help provide a means for property owners to financially protect themselves.

Since standard homeowners insurance doesn’t cover flooding, it’s important to have protection from floods associated with heavy rains, melting snow, or other conditions that impact the City.

The NFIP offers flood insurance to homeowners, renters, and business owners if their community participates in the NFIP. Participating communities agree to adopt and enforce ordinances that meet or exceed FEMA requirements to reduce the risk of flooding.

Flood insurance protects two types of property: Building and contents; but neither covers the land they occupy.

Building coverage includes:

  • The insured building and its foundation
  • The electrical and plumbing system
  • Central air conditioning equipment, furnaces, and hot water heaters
  • Permanently installed carpeting over unfinished flooring

Contents coverage includes:

  • Clothing, furniture, and electronic equipment
  • Curtains
  • Portable and window air conditioners
  • Portable microwaves and dishwashers
  • Carpeting that is not already included in property coverage
  • Clothing washers and dryers

Changes to FEMA’s NFIP Flood Insurance

FEMA is updating flood insurance pricing methodology.  Premiums will be distributed across policyholders based on the value of their home and flood risk of their property.  New policies as of October 1, 2021 and existing policies renewing after April 1, 2022 are subject to the new pricing.